About Us

The success of our programs relies on our dedicated Program Directors, Board of Directors, and volunteers.

Our Volunteers

Bentley University and Brandeis University students provide one-on-one tutoring and mentoring for our participants. Students change each semester based on classes and service placements, though many stay in touch for the duration of their undergrad time and beyond. In fact, several former college volunteers now serve on our board of directors!

Our Staff

Emma Brazo, Program Director
After-School Youth Academic Program, Young Adult Empowerment Program, Teen Homework Drop-In

Emma Brazo comes to us after many years of working in education at schools both in and around Boston. Her degree is in Juvenile Justice and Youth Advocacy from Wheelock College, and she is passionate about working with youth in the Greater Boston Community. She grew up in Cambridge and now lives in Dorchester with her husband, daughter, and 2 pitbulls. She is excited to bring her passion and experience to the Prospect Hill Community Center.

Jemia Cunningham-Elder, Programming Consultant

Sonya Bhabhalia, Development Director

Sonya Bhabhalia developed an interest in neighborhood and community development through a service-learning program while an undergraduate at Boston College. This led to a 10-year career in development, communications, and fundraising operations for several public education-related nonprofit organizations in and around Boston. Sonya earned her bachelor’s degree from BC in 2009 and her master’s from Northeastern University in 2017. She's passionate about sports, storytelling, and food.

Board of Directors

Rachel Palumbo, President
M.Ed Brown University '21

Olivia Miller, Vice President
Massachusetts Office of Inspector General

Dawn St.Angelo, Treasurer
Deloitte Consulting

Tina Touri, Clerk
Athena Health

Jill Eglitis, Board Member

Tiffany Magentiren, Board Member
Blackstone Group

Lynda Pennel, Board Member
JLDarling Septic Pumping

Brian Quigley, Board Member
Wentworth Institute of Technology

Bria Milbery, Board Member
Bentley University

Herlyne Das, Board Member
Grad Student, St. George's University School of Medicine

Bryan Schwartz, Board Member
Focus on Tanzanian Communities

Advisory Board

June Conway
Waltham Police Department

Matt Cariker
Brandeis University

Lucas Malo
Brandeis University

Denise Newton
Waltham Housing Authority

Aaron Pinet

Brian Shea
Bentley University
Donate Now

Be a facilitator of empowerment. Donate Now.